Posted on

Response To Kymlee’s Critical Thinking Episode III

Kymlee’s Episode III Critical Thinking Vlog

Questions in this video:

1. Is torture ever acceptable?

2. Are parents clueless about child predators on the Internet?

3. Is child behavior better or worse than it was years ago?

4. Should creationism be taught in public schools?

5. Should the alcoholic drinking age be increased or decreased?

ARCHIVE

Ace Pete’s Response Vlog

DarkJade’s Response Vlog

Jump in to the Conversation Via Comments, or a Vlog… I’ll either add it to The Comments, or Post Your Response

To See Her Original Post, and My Reply in Her Comments, Head Here Critical Thinking with Kymlee no.3

DarkJade-

4 responses to “Response To Kymlee’s Critical Thinking Episode III

  1. Very cool vlog – I really like this discussion. 🙂 I responded to this over on Kymlee’s original post in a loooooooooooooong comment, lol. 🙂

  2. ** Originally responded on Kymlee’s post, and transferred here. 🙂 **

    Great post – I’ve been wanting to reply to your other critical thinking posts as well, but I haven’t had a chance to sit down and put serious thought into my answers. I don’t want to give you any half-way responses.

    1) Is torture ever acceptable?
    Wow, this one is really touchy. In my opinion, it depends. Lol, obviously no, I’m not going to get all medieval on someone who takes my parking spot at Wal-Mart, or says something rude, or judges me for whatever reason. That’s on them – I’m not going to carry it with me. I’ll cuss them out in my head, smile and wish them well just to annoy them, and be on my merry way. Now if someone hurts someone I love, I have been known to say I’ll put the (verbal) smack down on somebody in a universe ending kind of way (I talk some serious smack when I’m mad) – I am very loyal to my friends and family, and am not afraid to defend them – but I wouldn’t resort to torture. I would have a discussion with the person in question, and it may not be pretty, but I wouldn’t go full serial killer on anybody, regardless of how angry and justified I feel in that anger. The only time I could understand torturing someone would be in a very extreme circumstance. Not to get all political – because that is an entirely different can of worms there – but if there is no doubt that people are going to die otherwise, and there is no other way to get the information that could save them, that would be the only time I could understand it. I do agree with you and DJ though – it would take a terrible toll on the person doing the torturing as well. I could never kill someone, *ever* – but I also agree with you that I would actually rather kill someone than torture them. The thought of what happens to a person, both psychologically and physically, when they are being tortured makes my skin crawl.

    2) Are parents clueless about child predators on the internet?
    No, I don’t think they’re clueless, but they definitely have to pay closer attention than ever. There are so many ways for a predator to get to kids these days. As technology advances, there are more devious ways for them to disguise themselves. It used to be a matter of “don’t talk to strangers” but now with all the easy networking at everyone’s fingertips it’s perfectly normal to speak to several strangers every day. Not to be all creep-tastic, but everywhere you go, sites ask for your information – age, number, address, e-mail. If you have Facebook, Twitter, or blogs it is so much easier to figure out how to get close to a person who doesn’t know to be careful (such as kids) – and you never know who you’re talking to for sure. I flat out lie and say I’m a 53 year old man from Wales when sites require information. Some parents are a little clueless, and say “it’ll never happen to me” – and this kind of ties in to #3 as well – but for the most part, I’d say parents are becoming more aware these days too. When bad things happen, people aren’t quiet about it anymore.

    3) Is child behavior better or worse than it was years ago?
    I think it’s different than it was years ago – different times, different problems. I think this has as much to do with parents as it does kids though. For example – respect. Respect has gone downhill in my opinion. I watch shows where kids act out in big ways, and let me tell you – I back talked my mom *ONCE.* Yeah. Only once. Don’t get me wrong, she didn’t lift a hand to me – I think I can count on one hand the number of spankings I got total when I was a kid – but she never, ever *let* me talk to her in a disprespectful manner. And she never let me disprespect others. Period. If kids are getting a little “worse” in some ways I think it’s partly the individual kid, partly the new kinds of trouble they can get into and influences around them, and partly the parents. I think there are a lot of factors that go into it. In general, kids are kids, and they will push boundaries. That’s what they do, lol. I’m definitely not saying all parents are doing a crappy job – there are tons of fantastic parents out there, and I have great respect for them and all they do. I’m not a parent yet myself, so this is only my opinion looking at these situations from the outside. And I’m not saying go crazy and micromanage every aspect of their life or anything crazy like that – but consistent rules, that are actually inforced, I think would help. And exposing them to some better role models wouldn’t hurt either. Or at least taking the time to explain that what they see on tv or on the internet is *not* how you should act.

    4) Should creationism be taught in public schools?
    Another really touchy one, lol. I would say no. I’m a Christian, but I believe it’s up to the individual family until a certain age, and then the individual person once they’re an adult, to figure out what they want to believe. Faith, however you choose to believe or not, is a very personal thing. I agree with you – leave it to the church. I also agree with you on leaving God in the Pledge of Allegiance. Our country was founded by religious people, and it is part of our history. If you don’t believe in God, just don’t say that part. It’s personal choice. No one is holding a gun to anyone’s head, telling them they *have* to believe it, and (speaking for myself) I’m not going to judge a person for having a different belief than me. If you’re standing next to me, and don’t say “under God,” I’m not going to look at you funny or think I’m better or more enlightened. Now if you actually want to talk about God with me, I’m there. But I wouldn’t force it on you, or on the kids in school. Different beliefs make life interesting, and make for great conversation. Two people I love dearly are atheists, and I respect them and their beliefs, and they’re fine with mine. I have a Muslim friend. A Jewish friend. A friend who is a Jehova’s Witness. I have a friend who goes to a church where the women are only allowed to wear long dresses. I think any teaching about God, or the lack thereof, should come from home and personal study.

    5) Should the alcoholic drinking age be increased or decreased?
    I think it would be nice if it weren’t such a big deal. I get why they have the law, but I agree – I think if it were less of a taboo it would be less of a problem. I had sips of wine coolers every now and then. A sip of champaigne on new years. A little wine at Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was tradition. It wasn’t a big deal in my family, and it was clear that it was for celebration, or when you’re older to compliment a meal. So, for me, when I turned 21 I didn’t feel the need to freak out and drink until I nearly died. I think there should always be clear discussion of responsibility and the consequences of your actions – there will always be people who, for whatever reason, abuse alcohol – but I wonder if it would happen as much as it does if alcohol, and the reasons people drink, were looked at differently?

Tell Us Whatcha Think

